Mozzarella is definitely the most common cheese out there, but is Mozzarella vegan and vegetarian?
Mozzarella is not vegan because it has dairy. It’s a certain type of cheese, and cheese cannot be vegan as it’s by definition, a dairy product. So, vegans cannot have any regular Mozzarella cheese, but they can have vegan substitutes.
It’s quite easy to either make your own vegan Mozzarella or buy it online. Some stores have vegan Mozzarella, but it’s much easier to find online in my experience.
However, cheese is entirely vegetarian. That’s because, while vegetarians cannot have animal flesh, they can eat dairy. In fact, all regular cheeses are 100% vegetarian, since it’s free from any actual animals.
So what is Mozzarella even? -And what does makes it so bad?
What Is Mozzarella
Mozzarella is a kind of cheese. As with much traditional cheese, they have highly specific ingredients and methods of production. What makes Mozzarella so different from other cheeses that it’s made from Italian water buffalo milk.
It’s usually white, although it depends on the specific diet of the animals. However, almost all Mozzarella is white, and that’s also how it’s most commonly known.
This cheese is widely popular and sold in both fresh chunks and grated cheese bags. The big chunks are typically for salads or similar foods, while the grated can be used for many purposes. -Foods such as pizza or nachos typically use the grated.
It’s definitely one of the most common cheeses out there. So is mozzarella vegan, or should it be avoided altogether?
Is Mozzarella Vegan
The vegan lifestyle includes reducing harm wherever possible. While milk doesn’t necessarily cause harm, it’s still considered non-vegan. That’s because the milking process and standard industry practice are considered inhumane.
So vegans cannot have Mozzarella as it’s derived from an animal. It comes from the Italian water buffalo, it may or may not, be grass-fed, but it’s non-vegan nevertheless. Although, it’s possible to either buy or make your own vegan Mozzarella substitute.
Thus, vegans need to opt for vegan alternatives to Mozzarella. You can buy it online or make your own, and it’s actually quite easy to make. -Although vegans cannot eat any regular mozzarella, it needs to be of entirely different ingredients.
Vegan Mozzarella Substitute
There are plenty of vegan alternatives to Mozzarella. That’s possible because cheese get’s it’s creamy and delicious texture from the high-fat content. So the same texture, or something close to it, can be achieved with nuts.
A very popular nut for vegan mozzarella cheese is cashews. They have a very similar taste when made into vegan cheese. -And it’s also a much healthier option.
Vegan Mozzarella Is Healthier
Regular cheese is made from milk, which has a high saturated-fat and cow hormones content.
-Just think about this.
Cows produce milk to feed their offspring and make them grow as fast as possible. It makes quite a lot of sense from an evolutionary standpoint. After all, the offspring is more likely to survive if it grows faster.
However, we don’t need those hormones. They are intended for offspring that need to grow fast. -We, on the other hand, often face the opposite issue. Gaining unwanted fat, which these hormones just accelerate.
Vegan Mozzarella Ingredients
Vegan Mozzarella can be a lot of things. There are many different recipes you can find online that are very similar to the real deal. Some might use different proportions, flours, and fats, but most have nuts.
Cashew is the most common nut for vegan mozzarella cheese. It adds not only the creamy texture but also a lot of taste. In fact, cashews in the following combination, have a taste that’s just as, if not better than Mozzarella.
So here’s my favorite vegan mozzarella recipe.
- Coconut Oil
- Almond Flour
- Lemon Juice
This recipe uses simple ingredients and is easy to make. Although it does have to sit for around 2-3 hours after preparation.
Is Mozzarella Vegetarian
Vegetarian is merely a diet that excludes animal flesh. Meaning vegetarians cannot have any foods made of animals. Well, they can eat products from animals, like eggs or dairy, but not the animal. So is Mozzarella vegetarian?
Mozzarella is entirely vegetarian because it’s without animal flesh. It consists mainly of Italian buffalo milk, which is 100% vegetarian. In fact, non-vegetarian Mozzarella is not possible as the product is Traditional Specialties Guaranteed certified. Meaning the ingredients and production method cannot be changed. Otherwise, it’s not Mozzarella.
However, as a vegetarian, you probably care for animal well-being to some extent. So it’s still essential to opt for the more humane options. Look for Mozzarella products with grass-fed cows.
Is Cheese Typically Vegan
So Mozzarella is not vegan, but what about other cheeses?
Cheese is not vegan by definition. While it’s possible to make vegan cheese substitutes, cheese itself is not. It’s a dairy product that is derived from milk. Although many types of cheese are vastly different, they all have dairy.
So it’s technically not possible to make cheese without dairy. Simply because cheese is, by definition, a dairy product. -That’s also why vegan cheese substitutes are not legally allowed to name it cheese.
Mozzarella is a kind of cheese, which makes it a non-vegan food by definition. That’s because cheese is a dairy product. You simply cannot make cheese without dairy, as otherwise, it’s not cheese. However, you can easily make vegan Mozzarella substitutes, that taste just as good. It works on pizza, pasta, nachos, and much more. -You can also buy it online if you prefer.
Vegetarians, on the other hand, can eat Mozzarella Cheese. It might have dairy, but that’s an entirely vegetarian product.
Hey, I’m Gus! I have been vegan for quite some years now, and have collected a lot of knowledge about the subject in this time. My goal with this blog is to spread the vegan message and make it easy to know exactly what’s vegan and what’s not.