Being committed to a cruelty-free life means you need to ask yourself questions about everything, including is flour vegan?
Yes, flour is vegan and can be eaten by both vegans and vegetarians. Flour is generally cruelty-free as it’s produced from grains, meaning no animals are necessarily hurt in the process. However, a true vegan seeks to reduce all sorts of harm, including that of humans. Some flour can be produced using inhumane practices, but it’s generally not so. Look for fair trade flour and brand names with proper retribution according to the environmental and humanitarian concerns.
So there are no inherent issues with eating flour while being vegan or vegetarian. But there are some things to consider when it comes to the environmental and humanitarian aspects. Some brands use corrupt practices that are bad for the environment and workers, which should be avoided.
Environmental Impact of Flour
The milling industry which produces flour has a relatively low environmental impact compared to many other products. For one, a loaf of bread uses 1,608 liters of water per kg. This seems like a lot, but it’s relatively low compared to foods like red meat, which uses 15,415 liters per kg. However, flours’ water usage is still more than 5 times the amount of pure produce like tomatoes or cabbage.
Definitely not the most environmental choice in terms of water use. Despite its water usage, flour has some ecological benefits. It’s produced in most countries, meaning it’s possible to buy more locally and reduce transportation. Flour also lasts for a long time, which results in less food waste. This is important as food waste is one of the most significant environmental issues with the US wasting as much as 30-40 of all food.
Is flour humane?
Yes, flour is humane in most countries, and in contrast to other products most flour is produced reasonably local. Meaning they are usually produced in the same region. So, slave labor and inhumane working conditions are generally not a concern of flour. Most farms in the US are owned by the farmers themselves, and no inherently poor work practices are used. That being said, many farmers have a rough time getting by, but it’s not anything compared to products made in third world countries.
Are there animal products in flour?
Almost all flour is made without the exploitation of animals or the use of any animal products. There are a few like bone marrow flour but odds are that you will never encounter any flour which includes animal products. However, you should be aware that some baking mixes could contain small amounts of either eggs or dairy. These are not vegan and should be avoided. So aim for pure for products, and you will never encounter any issues with your vegan or vegetarian lifestyle.
Animal Product In Flour
It’s rare, but some flours do contain animal products either partly or entirely. They are most commonly very easy to identify as they have different names. You can buy special flours made of bone marrow, crickets, and other animal products. However, these are generally specialty products with specific names and thus are easy to avoid. Simply buy pure flower, and if nothing else is specified, it’s regular pure flour.
Is Gluten Vegan?
Yes, vegans can eat flour with gluten. Gluten it merely a group of proteins that are found in flour. It’s a common question in the vegan community as many vegans avoid gluten for many purposes. However, there’s nothing inherently wrong with gluten in a vegan or vegetarian diet. It’s a set of proteins that are naturally found in wheat and flour. As so, they contain no animal products and are not harmful to the environment.
Some people are intolerant to gluten and can get bad stomach pains from eating gluten. This means that if you are one of these people you should definitely avoid gluten, always. But gluten intolerance is a relatively rare condition with only 1 percent of the population suffering from it. It’s actually quite healthy for the remaining 99% as it means more protein in the diet.
Is flour healthy for vegans?
Flour can be made in many ways and even consist of different things. The most common flour is white refined flour, which is not healthy. It’s made from grains containing much fiber and nutrition. However, white flour is refined, and thus, the most healthy aspects are removed either partly or often completely. Meaning that flour can be a healthy food for vegans, but you need to choose the healthy kinds. Healthy flours include
- Coconut Flour
- Quinoa Flour
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Almond Flour
Opting for these flours allow for a healthy flour intake. These are high in nutrition and especially fibers, which are scarce in white flour. Always buy your products as natural as possible as this will assist in a healthy vegan diet -And don’t be scared of gluten, unless you are intolerant.
Almost all flour is vegan and can be consumed by both vegans and vegetarians. There’s no inherent animal or human exploitation in flour, although it can happen. So, it’s still important to be aware that you don’t accidentally buy non-vegan flour containing animal products. Some products like baking mixes are mainly flour but can include both eggs and dairy which are not vegan. Avoiding these are essential to a vegan lifestyle, so be sure that your purchase is cruelty-free before buying. There are also a few flours that are made from animals or insects but these are rare and you will most likely not encounter them.
Hey, I’m Gus! I have been vegan for quite some years now, and have collected a lot of knowledge about the subject in this time. My goal with this blog is to spread the vegan message and make it easy to know exactly what’s vegan and what’s not.