Are Wheat Thins Vegan And Vegetarian? This Flavor Is

are wheat thins vegan

They are healthy and delicious but are Wheat Thins vegan and vegetarian?

Some Wheat Thins are entirely vegan and vegetarian. Although many flavors contain the ingredient; natural flavor, which is neither vegan or vegetarian. So you need to avoid any Wheat Thins with this ingredient or any other animal-related products.

Wheat Thins are generally a quite healthy option. So it can be quite beneficial to determine which Wheat Thins are vegan or vegetarian. Luckily it’s quite easy as you simply need to avoid sketchy ingredients.

It’s not always easy to determine if an ingredient is vegan or vegetarian. So let’s take a closer look at what Wheat Thins are vegan and what to avoid.

What Are Wheat Thins

Wheat Thins are so common nowadays that they are often seen as a food in and of itself. Although wheat Thins is a specific brand, of crackers. Most common in the US, but known all over the world for their low-calorie content and fibers.

It’s not a given, but most of them are entirely whole grain. The outlier is the original kind, which is not 100% whole grain. That being said, even the original is reasonably high in fibers, with 11 grams of whole grain per serving.

So Wheat Thins are definitely some of the healthier crackers out there. Many of their counterparts are either with refined grains or high in fat. Thus, a serving or two of Wheat Thin crackers once in a while can be quite beneficial.

Are Wheat Thins Vegan

The vegan lifestyle is fairly straightforward. It’s all about reducing harm and suffering wherever possible. That includes the exclusion of all animal products and also items where suffering is required in the production.

So firstly we need to identify if Wheat Thins contain any animal products. That leads us to the ingredients of Wheat Thins.

Ingredients Of Original Wheat Thins

Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Soybean Oil, Sugar, Cornstarch, Malt Syrup (from Barley and Corn), Salt, Invert Sugar, Monoglycerides, Leavening (Calcium Phosphate and/or Baking Soda), Vegetable Color (Annatto Extract, Turmeric Oleoresin).

Original Wheat Thins

That’s quite a large ingredients list, which can seem rather daunting. After all, a vegan’s best friend is simple ingredients. It’s tough to determine whether or not a product is vegan if the ingredients are too “artificial.” -Luckily, I’m here.

Even though most ingredients in original Wheat Thins seem a bit sketchy, it’s actually entirely vegan. All ingredients in the original kind is 100% vegan.

Original Wheat Thins are entirely vegan.

Ingredients Of Sundried Tomato And Basil Wheat Thins

Whole Grain Wheat Flour, Soybean Oil, Sugar, Cornstarch, Malt Syrup (from Corn and Barley), Salt, Invert Sugar, Leavening (Calcium Phosphate and/or Baking Soda), Tomato Powder, Sundried Tomato Powder, Garlic Powder, Spices (Including Basil), Onion Powder, Dried Red and Green Bell Peppers, Yeast Extract, Vegetable Color (Paprika, Annatto Extract, Turmeric Oleoresin, Paprika Extract), Natural Flavor, Caramel Color, Sulfur Dioxide and/or Sodium Metabisulphite (to Retain Color).

Sundried Tomato And Basil Wheat Thins

Wheat Thins is a large brand, and they have many different versions. One of them is the sundried tomato and basil flavor. -Again the ingredients are not by any means simple, so let’s break it down.

One major ingredient in the vegan diet is the natural flavor. Although it sounds natural and thus vegan, it’s actually not. Mind you, it can be entirely vegan at times, but it’s often not. -That’s because the natural flavor can consist of many ingredients.

In fact, the natural flavor can mean anything from fruit to eggs or dairy. So it’s not safe to assume that the sundried tomato and basil flavor is vegan. It contains an ingredient that could have animal products.

The same is true for foods such as chips or rice cakes. Because of that I actually made of list of 100% vegan chips and vegan rice cakes. -Have a look at them if you need some inspiration for your vegan snacking.

So sundried tomato and basil Wheat Thins are not vegan.

Are All Wheat Thins Vegan

Wheat thins do have some vegan options, but are all of them?

The original Wheat Thins are entirely vegan, but many of the more exotic flavors are not. That’s because many Wheat Thins Variants have natural flavor. Although it sounds vegan, it’s simply not.

Natural flavor can be vegan, but it’s often a broad term for many ingredients which include eggs, meat, or even dairy. So it’s not safe to assume that all Wheat Thins are vegan, even though it doesn’t say eggs, dairy or meat on the label.

Determine If Wheat Thins Are Vegan

Not all Wheat Thins are vegan. Many contain natural flavor, and it’s not possible to say whether or not this includes eggs, dairy, or meat. It doesn’t necessarily mean animal products are present, but you cannot safely purchase it.

So the safest way to determine whether or not a specific Wheat Thins flavor is vegan is by avoiding natural flavor. Alongside any other listed animal products.

You cannot safely buy products that have a natural flavor. Although, sometimes it’s not animal products, so you can choose to contact the company. They don’t always know if animal products are present. So in that case, simply avoid the product altogether.

Are Wheat Thins Healthy For Vegans

While wheat thins are very high in fiber compared to others, the question still remains, whether it’s healthy. -The big reveal is that wheat crackers are healthy and suitable for vegans.

Vegans generally eat high amounts of fiber, at least compared to other diet groups. That’s typically due to a more green diet. Meaning vegans eat more vegetables such as broccoli and kale, which are incredibly high in fiber.

So the extra fiber intake might not be necessary for you. Although, as with most things, the vegan diet differ from individuals. So it really depends on your amount of dietary fiber.

Do you eat a lot of green vegetables? Well, then you might not exactly need the extra fiber, but fiber has other benefits.

Benefits of Wheat Thins

In contrast to most other crackers, Wheat Thins are very high in fiber. That has a lot of long-term bodily benefits such as digestion, cardiovascular, and much more. -However, it also has some short term benefits.

The fiber in Wheat Thins means that your blood sugar will remain much more stable than with other crackers. That’s because of the high amount of fiber works to slow down the breakdown of carbohydrates.

That might not sound all that good, but it really does have significant short term effects. Less blood sugar spikes will keep you feeling satisfied for longer and give you more sustainable energy throughout the day.

So it helps to reduce fluctuating energy levels -But it also aids in weight loss, as you are less prone to overeat during low blood sugar levels.

Are Wheat Thins Vegetarian

Vegetarians cannot have any animal flesh. So that includes products such as gelatin, tissue or fat, from animals. So do Wheat Thins have any of these?

Wheat Thins are not entirely vegetarian. That’s because many of their flavors have natural flavor. It’s not always a cover for actual meat. Sometimes it’s only eggs, dairy or actual vegetables. Although it’s not possible to say if meat is present.

So Wheat Thins are not typically vegetarian. However, the original Wheat Thins are, so vegetarians can safely eat the originals. -But it’s still essential to make sure that your favorite kind of Wheat Thins are without any natural flavor.


Some Wheat Thins are both vegan and vegetarian. That’s typically the flavors that are the most simple. So this includes the original or other simple kinds you might find. Although, you need to make sure that your flavor is either vegan and vegetarian. The ingredient of concern in both diet groups is the natural flavor. As well as other listed animal products.

So simply avoid any ingredients that seem sketchy. Either google the ingredients you are unaware of or contact the company for more information.

Scroll to Top