Raisins are not only healthy but also a fantastic snack for all occasions, but are raisins vegan and gluten-free?
Raisins are entirely vegan as they most commonly only have one ingredient, which is the raisins itself. It’s merely dried grapes which are by any means a vegan product.
Raisins are gluten-free since they are made from grapes. That’s an entirely gluten-free product, and almost no raisin brands add gluten-containing products. However, sometimes raisins can be produced in the same facility as gluten products, which leaves trace amounts on the raisins.
Most raisins are both vegan and gluten-free, but there are some major concerns you need to be aware of. Raisins are generally a natural snack without any added ingredients, but not always.
Sometimes brands add non-vegan ingredients to the raisins. So make sure you read this first, so you know exactly what to be aware of.
What Are Raisins Anyway
Raisins are eaten all over the world. It’s used in many snacks, cakes, salads, and you can even eat them raw. So what are these delicious little sweet snacks?
Raisins come in many different shapes, colors, and tastes. This leads one to believe that they are more complicated than they really are. Although raisins are most likely the most natural sweet snack out will come across.
Raisins are dried grapes, and the reason they can be so different is that there are multiple sorts of grapes. So while all raisins are dried grapes, not all raisins are the same as the grapes used are different.
That’s why you see so many different kinds of raisins. It’s not any added ingredients or anything of the sort. It’s merely because different kinds of grapes have varying levels of sweetness and colors.
Raisins Rarely Have Added ingredients
Raisins have their own unique and beloved taste. It’s all due to the grapes. So because of that, brands don’t typically add any ingredients. So raisins is a product where you get what you think. Nothing more, nothing less.
Although while that’s true, there could be some things to look out for. As is often with the vegan diet, there’s almost always a catch. We need to make sure every single time because companies will and do add animal products.
With that being said, let’s see what you need to avoid.
Are All Raisins Vegan
Although it’s rare, I don’t want to leave out this possibility. Some brands might add flavors to their raisins for whatever reason. It’s unlikely, but if you encounter any flavored raisins, you should make sure it’s vegan.
Avoid Natural Flavor
-In that case, you need to avoid the ingredient; natural flavor or any other animal-derived ingredients.
However, natural flavor is not always animal products. Although it’s a broad term that covers many different foods. These are everything from vegetables to actual meat. So it’s a significant concern to avoid this.
Or better yet, contact the company and ask whether they know the exact ingredients it covers.
Added Vitamins Are Not Always Vegan
Another major issue that’s sometimes a problem in the vegan diet is added vitamins. It might not sound all that bad, but it’s a major concern. Mainly because not all vitamins are vegan. -In fact, you can read more about which vitamins are vegan, in this article.
One problematic vitamin many companies add to foods is Vitamin D3. It’s the vitamin we naturally get from sunlight, but it’s often derived from animals. At least when added to foods.
Any of these two can include animal products.
It’s not always derived from an animal, so you can always contact to company and ask, in case you have a particular brand you love.
So there are a couple of ingredients you need to steer away from. Here’s a list of some ingredients you could encounter.
Possible Non-Vegan Ingredients In Raisins
- Natural Flavor
- Vitamin D3
- Egg Protein
In fact, it’s not always enough to look at the ingredients list. These are some of the actual ingredients that might be present. Although sometimes an issue is that the product is made in the same facilities as egg, or dairy products.
MANUFACTURED IN SAME FACILITIES THAT PRODUCE EGGS AND DAIRY CONTAINING PRODUCTS
It most often looks like this and is located right underneath the ingredients list. The label can vary, but be aware of anything like this.
Are Sun-Maid Raisins Vegan
Sun-Maid raisins are one of the most popular raisins brands out there. -And for a good reason. They pride themselves on being natural and healthy. That’s what the Sun-Maid raisins are, but are they vegan?
Sun-Maid Raisins are entirely vegan as they only have one ingredient which is dried grapes or otherwise known as raisins. Besides, they are free from any trace amounts of animals, as a result of clean production facilities.
In fact, let’s take a look at the ingredients list.
California Seedless RaisinsView On Amazon
Yes, that’s it. Raisins are genuinely a natural snack and especially the Sun-Maid. So don’t even think twice before buying raisins from Sun-Maid. In fact, you can buy them inexpensively on Amazon, as they don’t go bad anytime soon.
I have a fairly large stash myself.
Are Dole Seedless Raisins Vegan
Another vastly popular raisin brand out there is Dole. Their production method offers a lot of flavor, but are they still vegan?
The Dole Seedless Raisins are entirely vegan as their only ingredient is raisins. Also, the production facilities are free from any animal products. Thus ensuring you a 100% cruelty-free raisin.
These ingredients list might not surprise you, but let’s see it anyways.
RaisinsView On Amazon
That’s simplicity, something all vegans love. No added preservatives, flavor enhancers or anything of the sort. Just simple raisins.
The Dole raisins are supposed to have a more rich flavor than other raisins. I’m not entirely sure that’s something I agree with. Although the production method is quite impressive, so you might taste a difference.
Have a look at the link above to read more about the method, or even try them out for yourself.
Are Raisins Gluten-Free
There are a few reasons why someone is gluten-free. Some do it because of intolerance, while others opt for a gluten-free diet. Especially many vegans enjoy the gluten-free diet. In fact, many see significant benefits from doing so.
Raisins are entirely gluten-free as they are merely dried grapes, which does not contain any gluten. It’s very rare to find raisin brands that add any gluten foods to their products.
So almost all raisins are entirely without gluten. Although some raisins could be produced in the same facilities as gluten products. The issue is that this can contaminate the raisins with gluten.
However, it’s rather rare. At least I have not seen any examples so far. You simply have to look for a label underneath the ingredients that say that trace amounts of gluten is present.
Also Check Out: Is Gluten Vegan?
Raisins are, in many regards, the perfect snack for vegans. It’s healthy and entirely without any animal products. Although, as with most things, it’s always a possibility that animal products are added.
Ingredients such as Glycerin, natural flavor, or added vitamins. They can all be an issue, but it’s not common to find these in raisins. It’s almost always a pure product.
That being said, it’s still worthwhile to read the ingredients to make sure.
Hey, I’m Gus! I have been vegan for quite some years now, and have collected a lot of knowledge about the subject in this time. My goal with this blog is to spread the vegan message and make it easy to know exactly what’s vegan and what’s not.