Are Doritos Vegan? Complete Rundown (Few Are)

are doritos vegan

Probably one of the most popular chips brands out there, but are Doritos vegan?

Doritos are generally high in dairy products, meaning they are mostly not vegan. Most flavors contain varies dairy products, non-vegan food coloring, and some even have real chicken flavor. Only one, the Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos, is considered vegan.

That being said, Doritos introduce flavors all the time. Many are limited edition and therefore not included in this list. Although, it means that you may be able to find vegan options besides this list. This list should give you an indication of what to look for when determining if Doritos are vegan.

Are Doritos Vegan

Doritos are mostly not vegan as many of them have many dairy ingredients, as well as, non-vegan food coloring. The coloring is not vegan as animal testing is used in the production, meaning it contributes to animal exploitation.

The non-vegan dairy ingredients include; whey, skim milk, different types of cheeses, enzymes, buttermilk, cultures. Even trace amounts of these is not considered vegan, as it does contribute to animal mistreatment, to some degree.

The otherwise popular Salsa Verde flavor even contains natural chicken flavor. Meaning there is actual chicken in those, making them not suitable for both vegans and vegetarians.

There is one known vegan Doritos flavor, which is the Spicy Sweet Chili. These don’t contain dairy or non-vegan food coloring.

Are Cool Ranch Doritos Vegan

Cool Ranch Doritos

The Cool Ranch Doritos flavor is likely the most popular flavor out there. So it’s very disappointing to say that they are not vegan.

Cool Ranch Doritos are not vegan as they contain whey, skim milk, cheddar cheese, buttermilk, and animal-tested food coloring. These are mostly dairy products, which they have a lot of. So vegans cannot eat Cool Ranch Doritos.

The food coloring may not have actual animal products, but they use animal testing. That’s something that almost all vegans are against. So that ingredient is not vegan either.

However, they are without any actual animal parts, meaning they are suitable for vegetarians. Although some vegetarians may want to avoid them due to the animal testing.

Ingredients In Cool Ranch Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Salt, Tomato Powder, Corn Starch, Lactose, Whey, Skim Milk, Corn Syrup Solids, Onion Powder, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Dextrose, Malic Acid, Buttermilk, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Acetate, Artificial Color (Including Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5), Sodium Caseinate, Spice, Citric Acid, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.

Official Doritos Website

Are Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos Vegan

Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos are widely considered the only vegan option. That’s because they are entirely free from dairy, animal enzymes and animal-tested food coloring. So these are definitely the perfect Doritos flavor for vegans, and the only one.

These chips contain natural flavor, which is not always vegan. It’s an umbrella term for many different ingredients, which can include even meat. Although, it seems that the flavor is vegan in this case, which is also why they are so popular among vegans.

You may notice the vast amount of wordy ingredients. These may seem foreign as most of them are things you never hear about. Although, they are vegan. For example, the protein powder is based of soy, instead of whey protein.

So Doritos do actually have at least one vegan variety, and luckily one of the best flavors in my opinion.

Ingredients In Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola And/Or Sunflower Oil), Salt, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Fructose, Sodium Diacetate, Soy Sauce (Soybean, Wheat, Salt), Onion Powder, Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Garlic Powder, Torula Yeast, Malic Acid, Extractives Of Paprika, Spices, Caramel Color, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Dextrose, and Natural Flavor.

Official Doritos Website

Are Doritos Salsa Verde Vegan

Doritos Salsa Verde

Salsa Verde Doritos are without dairy products, at least in the ingredients list. So you would think that these are actually better than the other flavors, but not so fast.

Doritos Salsa Verde Chips are not vegan as they include natural chicken flavor, which is derived from actual chicken. So these chips have actual animal parts in them, making them unsuitable for both vegans and vegetarians.

They also have artificial food coloring made with animal testing. These may be free from actual animal products, but most vegans are against this practice. Animal testing is also rampant in cosmetics such as perfume, and should always be considered.

Ingredients In Doritos Salsa Verde

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Dextrose, Jalapeno Pepper Powder, Tomato Powder, Paprika, Onion, Citric Acid, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors (Including Natural Chicken Flavor), Spices, Garlic, Spice Extractives, Vinegar, Corn Syrup Solids, Artificial Color (Including Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake), Parsley, and Lemon Juice.

Doritos Official Website

Are Tapatio Doritos Vegan

The Tapatio flavored Doritos are not vegan as they many different animal based ingredients. This includes different cheeses, whey protein, natural flavor, and also colors made with animal testing. These ingredients are not vegans, so this Doritos flavor is not suited for vegans.

Cheese is made of dairy, which comes from cows. That’s not vegan as all animal-based ingredients are considered inhumane, also if the animal is not directly harmed. Humane milk production is technically possible, but not in practice. Producing the vast amount consumers want today, means exploitation is rampant in the industry.

Whey powder is also a milk product. In fact, whey protein powder, most commonly used by athletes, was originally a waste product(Wiki). It’s only in newer times this powder is sold to the public at large. Nevertheless, not a vegan product. Vegans should opt for other protein powders, such as rice, or wheat protein.

Ingredients In Tapatio Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola and/or Sunflower Oil), Tapatio Seasoning (Spices, Maltodextrin [Made from Corn], Cheddar Cheese [Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes], Salt, Whey, Monosodium Glutamate, Natural Flavor, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese [Part Skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes], Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion Powder, Sodium Diacetate, Corn Oil, Citric Acid, Dextrose, Artificial Color [Including Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 5, Blue 2 Lake], Garlic Powder, Sugar, Lactic Acid, Skim Milk, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, and Sunflower Oil).

Official Walmart Website

Are Wasabi Doritos Vegan

Wasabi Doritos

Most Doritos Chips Flavors are quite high in animal products, so it’s actually a pleasant surprise to see one with few. The Wasabi Doritos are without dairy and other common animal products. Although there are still some issues.

Wasabi Doritos are not vegan because they have natural flavor and artificial colors that use animal testing. Food coloring such as the “yellow 5” and “blue 1 lake” are made with animal testing. These animals include rats, mice, and dogs, so it’s definitely not vegan.

Animal testing may not directly harm animals, but it can have fatal consequences for these animals(source). They are subject to varies dangerous chemicals, which can cause great suffering, with a lot of exposure.

Natural flavor, on the other hand, is a bit more tricky. It’s an umbrella term, which includes many different ingredients, including animal. These can be anything eggs, milk, or meat. Although, it’s not always the case.

Ingredients In Wasabi Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (corn, Canola, And/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (made From Corn), Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Soy Sauce (soybeans, Wheat, Salt), Dextrose, Onion Powder, Sugar, Corn Syrup Solids, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Yeast Extract, Sodium Diacetate, Spices, Malic Acid, Gum Arabic, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Garlic Powder, Sodium Caseinate, Horseradish, Citric Acid, Artificial Color (yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake), And Wasabi.

Amazon Store

Are Doritos Flames vegan

Doritos Flames

I may have some disappointing news if you love hot chips. The Doriots Flames are both spicy and sour, but not vegan.

Doritos Flames are one of the flavors with most ingredients, which is generally bad. Most vegans will know that a long ingredients list is bad news. Mainly because it usually comes with complex and strange ingredients, many of which are not vegan. -And these are no exception.

Doritos Flames are not vegan because they contain cheese, milk, whey protein, animal tested food coloring, and honey extract. So these are actually the most non-vegan option available, as they have so many different animal products.

They are without actual meat, unlike the Salsa Verde, so vegetarians should be able to eat this flavor. Although it depends on your stand on issues such as animal testing.

Ingredients in Doritos Flames

Whole Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, Soybean and/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Citric Acid, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Artificial Color (Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake), Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Yeast Extract, Sodium Diacetate, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Modified Corn Starch, Natural Flavor (Including Natural Extractives of Bee, Pepper and Natural Extractives of Lime), Onion Powder, Whey, Corn Syrup Solids, Garlic Powder, vraiCint’atese (part-Skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt Enzymes). Buttermilk, Whey Protein Concentrate, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.

Official Doritos Website

Are Chili Heatwave Doritos Vegan

The Chili Heatwave Doritos are entirely vegan at the first glance. They exclude many of the common Doritos ingredients such as cheese, milk and food coloring. Instead they use plant-based powders such as soya protein and wheat.

That being said, they are produced in the same factories that make milk containing items. Thus trace amounts can be found, making them not vegan. Although some vegans may believe this to be fine, as it’s only trace amounts.

They also have some pretty scary looking ingredients like the “Monosodium Glutamate”, but these are all synthetic. Generally, we prefer products to be natural, but it’s a good thing in this case. Most natural ingredients like these are based on “natural” animal products.

Ingredients in Doritos Chili Heatwave

Corn (Maize), Vegetable Oils (Corn, Sunflower, Rapeseed, in varying proportions), Chilli Heatwave Flavour [Sugar, Flavourings (contains Soya, Wheat), Hydrolysed Soya Protein, Acidity Regulators (Sodium Acetates), Flavour Enhancers (Monosodium Glutamate, Disodium 5′-Ribonucleotides), Onion Powder, Salt, Garlic Powder, Acids (Citric Acid, Malic Acid), Potassium Chloride, Soybean, Wheat, Colour (Paprika Extract)].

Official Doritos Website

Are BBQ Doritos Vegan

BBQ Doritos

The ingrdients of the Doritos BBQ would suggest that they are entirely vegan. After all, it seems that they are without dairy, food coloring and meat? That’s not entirely true.

The Doritos BBQ chips are not vegan as they contain milk ingredients. This information can be found on the back of the chips bags. Besides, the ingredient “Color” is listed, but there is nothing about which colors. Thus, it may have animal tested colors.

There is two reasons why they contain dairy, without having it listed in the ingredients. First is that natural flavor may cover dairy ingredients. Second is that they have trace amounts of milk, since they are produced in the same factory as non-vegan kinds.

Nevertheless, not a vegan option as even trace amounts of animal products are non-vegan.

Ingredients In BBQ Doritos

Selected Corn, Vegetable Oil, Seasoning (Sugar, Salt, Dextrose, Brown Sugar, Onion Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Molasses Solids, Spices, Vegetable Oil, Corn Starch, Corn Syrup Solids, Corn Maltodextrin, Tomato Powder, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Colour, Modified Corn Starch, Citric Acid, Sodium Caseinate, Natural And Artificial Flavour, Sodium Citrate, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate), Calcium Hydroxide.

Official Doritos Website

Are Nacho Cheese Doritos Vegan

Nacho Cheese Doritos

Doritos have many different flavors, and most of them have milk. So it’s probably no surprise that the Nacho Cheese flavor contains cheese, which is not vegan.

Nacho Cheese Doritos are not vegan as they contain many dairy ingredients, and have food coloring with animal testing. Cheese is, not surprisingly, a big part of the Nacho Cheese flavor, and this is not vegan. So vegans should avoid this variety.

It seems that they are without any actual animals. So they are most likely suitable for vegetarians, although they do have natural flavor. This may, or may not, have animal parts in it. -But most likely not as other flavors with this ingredient are considered vegan.

Ingredients In Nacho Cheese Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, And/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey, Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese (Part-skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion Powder, Corn Flour, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Tomato Powder, Lactose, Spices, Artificial Color (Yellow 6, Yellow 5, And Red 40), Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Skim Milk, Red And Green Bell Pepper Powder, Disodium Inosinate, And Disodium Guanylate.

Official Doritos Website

Are Poppin Jalapeno Doritos Vegan

Whether you are vegan or not, there’s a big possibility that you have tried these before. They are very delicious if you like tortilla chips and jalapenos. Although, they may not be the best choice for vegans.

Poppin Jalapeno Doritos are not vegan as they have multiple kinds of cheese, including other milk products and even non-vegan food coloring. Meaning they should not be consumed by vegans, although they are vegetarian.

This flavor is actually on level with the Nacho Cheese when it comes to animal products. A big part of them are things that vegans cannot eat. The reason I know this is that the ingredient “whey” is listed almost in the beginning. -Ingredients in the beginning are the ones there are the most of.

Of cause, brands cannot say exact percentages of ingredients for fear of replications of their recipe. Although, you can see which are the most prominent, which in this case is corn.

Ingredients In Poppin Jalapeno Doritos

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Corn, and/or Canola Oil), Whey, Salt, Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese (Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Onion Powder, Sugar, Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Spices, Lactose, Jalapeno Pepper, Garlic Powder, Modified Corn Starch, Dextrose, Sodium Caseinate, Skim Milk, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Artificial Color (Yellow 6, Blue 1, Red 40), Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.

Official Doritos Website

Are Doritos Vegetarian

Vegetarianism is a diet that excludes products from an actual animal. Meaning food items such as meat, flesh, skin, you name it. Luckily, most Doritos flavors are without meat, thus suitable for vegetarians. Although the Salsa Verde flavor does contain Natural Chicken Flavor, making them not suitable.

It seems that the Salsa Verde is the only flavor that vegetarians cannot have. However, it should be noted that recipes can change over time, and location. Meaning recipes may be different from the USA, UK, Canada, or Australia.

This is not always the case, but I encourage you to read the ingredients for yourself to make sure every time.


So there you have it. Most Doritos are not vegan because they contain many different animal products, where dairy is the most common. Even flavors that don’t have cheese in the name are rarely vegan. The Spicy Sweet Chili flavor seems to be the only vegan option at this time.

However, there are so many different Doritos flavors out there, and they keep introducing new kinds. So you may be able to find other vegan flavors. I hope this article gave you some indication as to what you should look for, so you can determine for yourself.

Scroll to Top