Kellogg’s have a wide variety of vastly popular products all over the world, but are Rice Krispies vegan?
Rice Krispies from Kellogg’s is not vegan as it has Vitamin D3. Although Vitamin D3 can be vegan, this one is not. Kellogg’s say on their website that non-vegan ingredients include Vitamin D3. In addition to that, they make it clear that sometimes products are not labeled with either D2 or D3 but only Vitamin D. In that case you need to avoid the product altogether as it could contain animal products.
However ingredients vary from countries, so what about other countries? Specifically Rice Krispies in the UK or Australia? Let’s find out if vegan Rice Krispies exist and if there are any vegan Kellogg’s cereals for that matter.
Are Rice Krispies Vegan?
Vegans cannot have any animal products, which is often difficult to avoid. Many of our favorite foods are, unfortunately. Or at least the snacks that used to be our favorites. Sadly enough, the same is true for cereals. So, are Rice Krispies Vegan?
Rice Krispies by Kellogg’s is one of the most popular cereal brands out there. The puffed rice makes for a fantastic cereal, that’s also somewhat healthy. At least compared to other popular cereals.
Non-Vegan Sources In Rice Krispies
Original Rice Krispies are sadly not entirely vegan. That’s because they contain a specific Vitamin D, which is not vegan. While Vitamin D can be vegan, this one is not. Here’s a statement from Kellogg’s website, that explains their Vitamin D3 isn’t vegan.
Animal Sources: Eggs, Dairy (Milk, Whey, Casein, Cheese, Lactose and Yogurt), Gelatin, Vitamin D3 (but the ingredient label may not denote whether the vitamin is D2 or D3)Animal Sources in Rice Krispies
Vegan Sources In Rice Krispies
Consequently, all products from Kellogg’s that have these ingredients are non-vegan. Although they also have many ingredients that are labeled as vegan. Here’s the complete list of vegan ingredients in Kellogg’s products, including Rice Krispies.
Non-Animal Sources: Vitamin B12, Vitamin D2 (but the ingredient label may not denote whether the vitamin is D2 or D3), Vitamin B2/riboflavin, Lactic acid • Proteolytic enzymes, Rennet, Emulsifiers (including monoglycerides, diglycerides and polysorbate), Enzymes, Glycerin, Yeast ingredientsNon-Animal Sources In Rice Krispies
Meaning all of these are entirely vegan. This extends to not only Rice Rice Krispies but all Kellogg’s products. So let’s take a closer look at the ingredients that make up the original Kellogg’s Rice Krispies.
Ingredients In Rice Krispies
The following ingredients list is derived from the US Tesco, so be aware that these are the US ingredients of Rice Krispies. Cereal Ingredients of Kellogg’s vary from different countries, so your local Rice Krispies could have an entirely different recipe.
Rice, Sugar, Salt, Barley Malt Flavouring, Vitamins & Minerals: Niacin, Iron, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin), Folic Acid, Vitamin D, Vitamin B12Ingredients in Original Rice Krispies
Is the Original Rice Krispies Vegan?
Kellogg’s say on their website that ingredients sourced from animals include Vitamin D3. Whether the vitamin is D3 or D2 is not always specified on the packaging they also say. Which means it’s safest to avoid all “Vitamin D” statements altogether. Otherwise, you can accidentally purchase animal products.
So this means that the original Rice Krispies are non-vegan. Unfortunately, vegans cannot have the US Rice Krispies as these contain Vitamin D3 derived from animals.
Also Check Out: My Favorite Vegan Rice Cakes
Although Rice Krispies have many different variants, with a lot of different flavors. So are any of the other flavors vegan?
Vegan Kellogg’s Cereals USA
Most brands have ingredients that vary in different countries. This means that a product can have animal products in one country, and entirely vegan in another. Sadly the use of animal products is much more rampant in US products.
Kellogg’s is not much different in this regard. Although many of their products are vegan in other countries, very few US are.
After reading numerous answers from Kellogg’s, new and old, it’s apparent that vegan Kellogg’s products are rare. At least in the US. Here’s the only product that is entirely vegan in the US.
- Kellogg’s Mini-Wheats Unfrosted Bite Size
It seems that the Special K Protein Plus was once vegan. According to an old answer from an email inquiry. Although after looking through the ingredients, it’s not. Special K Protein Plus contains Vitamin D3, which is not vegan. As you can see from the list of animal-sourced ingredients above, Vitamin D3 used by Kellogg’s is not vegan.
-Do you know any vegan Kellogg’s cereals in the US? Write me a message!
Vegan Kellogg’s Cereals Australia
Not many Kellogg’s cereals are vegan in the US, although it’s much different in Australia. There are a wide variety of different flavors and brands that are entirely vegan. In fact, there are so many options that they have an entire section on their website.
- Kellogg’s® All-Bran® Wheat Flakes
- Kellogg’s® Corn Flakes
- Kellogg’s® Nutri-Grain® cereal
- Kellogg’s® Rice Bubbles®
These are just some of the many vegan Australian options. You can see the rest on Kellogg’s Australian website here. However, be aware that Rice Krispies is not one of them. Meaning you cannot have Rice Krispies in either Australia or the US. At least not if you follow a vegan lifestyle.
Are there any vegan rice Krispies?
I have your answer after looking through ingredients of Rice Krispies all over the world. Although it’s not a particularly good one. Rice Krispies are not vegan in either the US, Australia, or the UK.
They could be vegan in other certain countries. So it’s essential that you check up on your local ingredients if you live outside the US, Australia, or the UK.
It’s easy to determine whether or not a particular Rice Krispies is vegan. Simply avoid all the ingredients listed above as “non-vegan sources.” That ensures that no animal products are present. Especially be careful with Vitamin D.
Many products have Vitamin D on the label. This means that you don’t know if it’s Vitamin D3 or D2, which means it could contain animal products. So either avoid the Vitamin D ingredients all together or only purchase products with D2.
So there you have it. Rice Krispies are not vegan in either of the largest markets. You will probably not have much luck finding a vegan Rice Krispies. Although they could be in some other countries.
Many of Kellogg’s cereals contain Vitamin D3, which is not vegan. So vegans cannot have Rice Krispies or many other Kellogg’s products. In fact, I was only able to find one vegan US Kellogg’s product.
Hey, I’m Gus! I have been vegan for quite some years now, and have collected a lot of knowledge about the subject in this time. My goal with this blog is to spread the vegan message and make it easy to know exactly what’s vegan and what’s not.