are clif bars vegan

Are Clif Bars Vegan? (Vegetarian And Gluten-Free)

Veganism means getting rid of many of our favorite snacks, but are Clif bars vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free?

Clif bars are mostly vegan, with only two exceptions. These contain either honey or whey protein, which is clearly stated on the front. Meaning it’s effortless to identify which are vegan and which are not. The few exceptions might not be vegan, but they are vegetarian. So vegetarians can eat every Clif bar flavor and still adhere to their diet. Although the gluten-free, are out of luck since all Clif bars contain some amount of gluten. Thus, you need to avoid all flavors and variations in case you are gluten-intolerant or on a gluten-free diet.

Read along as we determine which Clif bars are vegan, which are vegetarian, and which are not. As well as some insight into the social responsibility of Clif.


Are Clif Bars Vegan?

Being vegan is not just a diet, as vegetarianism is. It’s a lifestyle that strives to eliminate suffering wherever possible. This lifestyle usually involves lowering ones environmental footprint. At least most vegans believe this to be important, although opinions on this differ.

Clifbar is one of the more socially responsible companies. Especially in the world of supplements and fitness. They put a value on the employee, environment, and physical health. In fact, Clif bar is one of the few companies that actively encourage employees to lessen their environmental impact. Employees receive upwards of $6,500 for purchasing electric or fuel-efficient cars. Alongside other economic incentives such as cash rewards for biking, rather than driving. You can read more about this on their website.

In this respect, it’s apparent that the company does a whole lot for the environment — much more than other similar companies. But you are most likely very concerned about the products in Clif bars, as you should be. Luckily, this is also a concern of Clif bar, which is quite clear from their ingredients. There are only a select few Clif bars that contain any animal products. Additionally, these are easily identified by their names.

Which Clif Bars Are Vegan

There’s a lot of options available for even the most dedicated vegan. Most of their products are actually entirely vegan, although there are some things to consider. One thing is animal products, which are present in a few of the Clif bar variations. Another is the use of palm oil. Many vegans are against products that contain palm oil due to its harmful effects on the environment. Thus, both the use of animal products and palm oil will be discussed in the following list.


Are Traditional Clif Bars Vegan?

Clif bars have a few variants, and the most popular is the traditional. These come in many different flavors which begs the question if all traditional Clif bars vegan? Sadly, not all traditional Clif bars are vegan, although most are. The only exception is the Peanut Butter & Honey flavor. The non-vegan ingredient in this flavor is, not surprisingly, honey. That makes it no-vegan because it’s an animal product.

are clif bars vegan

Click here to view on Amazon

Another great thing about the traditional Clif bare is that they are free from palm oil. Meaning even the most hardcore vegan can eat most of these without issue.


Are Fruit Smoothie Clif Bars Vegan?

This one is a bit more simple as there are only 3 options. All these are entirely vegan when it comes to the use of animal products. But they do contain some palm oil which some might want to avoid. Other than that, they are safe for both vegans and vegetarians.

are clif bars vegan

Click here to view on Amazon

Did you know the Clif Fruit Smoothie Filled bars are both organic and contain only non-GMO ingredients? Meaning it’s a great alternative to other energy bars.


Are Clif Builder Bars Vegan?

The name alone seems worrisome in my ears. Bodybuilding and all these muscle builder products often have animal products. Mainly because most of these bars have whey powder, which is a milk protein, that’s not vegan. Luckily, this protein bar is 100% vegan, in most regards. It’s free from all animal products, but it does contain palm oil. Nevertheless, a great protein bar alternative to the regular that’s packed with whey protein.

are clif bars vegan

Click here to view on Amazon

The protein content of this bar is actually quite good. It’s made using Soy Protein Isolate, which is a high-quality protein. It has all the essential amino acids making it an excellent protein bar for vegans who need a little more protein.


Are Nut Butter Filled Clif Bars Vegan?

All flavors of this Clif bar are vegan. It’s an excellent choice for any vegans who love their nuts. It’s packed full of healthy nut fats which makes it not only delicious but healthy as well. Although there’s also some palm oil to be found in this particular kind of Clif bar. Not the healthiest of fats, but accompanied by other high-quality ones.

vegetarian bar

Click here to view on Amazon

It’s slightly more calorie dense, which might be a concern for some. But remember that those extra calories are due to high-quality fats. So don’t let that discourage you from indulging in this snack.


Are Clif Whey Protein Bars Vegan?

Sadly, this particular Clif bar is not vegan. It has whey protein powder, which is from milk. All vegans are against the consumption of dairy products as it’s considered a form of animal exploitation. So this Clif protein bar is not vegan-friendly, although vegetarians can eat them. That’s because they contain products from animals, but not actual animals.

are clif bars gluten free

Click here to view on Amazon

You need to avoid this Clif bar in case you are vegan, although vegetarians can have these and still adhere to their diet.


Which Clif Bars Are Not Vegan

Almost all Clif bars are vegan, but there are a few exceptions. Luckily, these are easy to identify since the non-vegan ingredient is on the front. That goes for both non-vegan Clif bars, which are these two.

  • Clif Peanut Butter & Honey (Traditional)
  • Clif Whey Protein Bars

As you can see, both bars are up-front with their non-vegan ingredients. The first is not vegan since it contains honey while the latter is made from milk products. Honey and milk products like Greek Yogurt is not vegan since it’s derived from an animal. So you need to avoid these two bars if you are vegan. Vegetarians, on the other hand, can eat both without an issue.

Are Clif Bars Vegetarian?

Yes, all Clif bars are 100% vegetarian. Some contain products made by animals, such as honey and milk. That might not be vegan, but it’s entirely vegetarian as they are free from animals themselves. Vegetarians can safely eat products made by animals, but not animals. Thus all Clif bars are vegetarian although some do contain animal products.

Are Clif Bars Gluten-Free?

No, Clif bare are not gluten-free, as they contain wheat. Gluten is a protein most commonly found in wheat. It’s not necessarily bad for you, but those who are gluten-intolerant need to avoid it. So in case you are gluten-intolerant or on a gluten-free diet, you will need to avoid Clif bars.

However, not all “Clifbar and Company” products have gluten. Gluten-free bars from their selection include Luna bars. So this can be a great substitute in case you are looking for a healthy and gluten-free energy bar.


Conclusion

So there you have it! Most Clif bars are entirely vegan if you don’t mind the palm oil. However, there are two kinds you should avoid. One flavor contains honey, and the other is made of whey protein. All other Clif bars are safe for both vegans and vegetarian -and they are healthy too. But the gluten-intolerant or those following a gluten-free diet cannot have any Clif bars. There are some other gluten-free options from the same company, such as Luna bars. Clif bars themselves should be avoided by these people though.

Scroll to Top